Aesthetic Dis/interestedness and Affects  

LOGOS Research Group in Analytic Philosophy and the Society for Philosophy of Emotion

Conference 19-20, May 2022

Location: Online (Info TBA)

Affects (emotions, moods etc.) often play a central role in aesthetic experience. Many accept this as almost a truism, even when they are puzzled by some aspects of this phenomenon (cf. paradox of fiction, paradox of negative emotions). Indeed, there is a recent trend in aesthetics of even defining aesthetic experience in terms of particular affects (e.g. wonder). Also widespread is an understanding of the ideal of aesthetic experience as one that is disinterested, i.e. disconnected from personal interests or desires. On the face of it, however, such disinterestedness is in tension with the nature of many affects as typically related to the affected person’s personal interests. To appreciate this prima facie tension, consider for instance how often we make emotions intelligible by means of the dis/satisfaction of one’s conative attitudes in general (she is happy because she passed the exam, which was her desire), or how relevant interests are to characterizing the formal object of an emotion (e.g. the formal object of fear is often defined in terms of dangerousness for the emoter, or for someone/something she cares about). The exploration of such a prima facie tension between aesthetic disinterestedness and the interestedness of affects can disclose important insight about emotions, aesthetic attitudes and the relation between them. 

This conference aims to present analyses of this prima facie tension, including discussing to what extent it is a real tension, and what ways out of it there are, if any. Several other questions will also be relevant to pursuing this goal, including:

This conference seeks to foster the study of affects, aesthetics and the relationship between the two. In particular, the idea is to gather inclusively both young and more experienced scholars with shared philosophical interests on aesthetics and affects with the aim of encouraging: (i) the exchange of ideas, (ii) the forging and broadening of research networks; and (iii) the collaborative development of new and interesting approaches to the workshop topic, with an aim to the publication of a special issue of the Journal of Philosophy of Emotion. This conference will feature the following four keynote speakers, along with 6 speakers selected from the replies to this call. It will also be freely open to the public for the public to attend. 

Adriana Clavel-Vázquez 

University of Oxford

 Peter Lamarque 

University of York

Íngrid Vendrell-Ferran

University of Heidelberg

Nick Zangwill

University College London

How to Apply for the Workshop

This call is addressed to scholars at any stage of their careers (including independent scholars and graduate students) working in the areas of philosophy of affects/emotion and aesthetics. If you are interested in being a speaker at this conference, please send your abstract of about 600-800 words to aaron[dot]estribor[@]gmail.com by the 1st of January 2022. Your abstract may be sent in .doc, docx., odt., or pdf. format. It must contain the title of the talk, a summary of the main arguments, and some considerations regarding the pertinence and relevance of your contribution to the question under discussion. It must be written in English. Abstracts will be evaluated by the Scientific Committee on the basis of their general quality and relevance to the workshop, without giving undue weight to linguistic style or fluency.  Applicants should send two copies of their respective abstract: one with the name(s) of the author(s), affiliation(s) and email contact, and a second one anonymised for peer review (not including names, affiliations, email contact or any kind of information that could reveal the authorship of the document).

Important Contact Info & Dates

Questions should be directed to aaron[dot]estribor[@]gmail.com

Submission deadline: 1st of January 2022

Notification of acceptance: 25th of February 2022

Scientific Committee

Aarón Álvarez González (University of Barcelona)

Tom Cochrane (Flinders University)

Filippo Contesi (University of Barcelona)

Esa Díaz-León (University of Barcelona)

Manuel García-Carpintero (University of Barcelona)

Cecilea Mun (University of Louisville)

David Pineda-Oliva: (University of Girona)

Enrico Terrone (University of Torino)


Aarón Álvarez-González (University of Barcelona)